Log in

Baltimore Watercolor Society

Members can log in to the site by clicking the icon at top right of the banner.

2023 Mid-Atlantic Regional Exhibition

October 6, 2023 through January 15, 2024 (see hours below)

Arts Barn and Kentlands Mansion Galleries
311 and 320 Kent Square Road
Gaithersburg, MD 20878

Reception and Awards Presentation:
Sunday, November 12, 2023, 2-4pm

Kentlands Mansion

Exhibition hours, please read carefully:

The Exhibition is spread equally between the Arts Barn and Kentlands Mansion facilities, just across the quiet Kent Square Road from each other. Exhibition visitors will probably want to choose a time when both are open.  The two facilities have different hours:

- Kentlands Mansion - Monday through Friday, 9 am to 4 pm.

- Arts Barn - Tuesday through Saturday, 1 to 5 pm and also for classes, activities and events.  

So the overlap hours of Tues-Fri, 1-4pm are the simplest.  If a visitor would like to come at a time both buildings are not officially open, they may email for an appointment and one of the gallery managers will be happy to meet them.

Both facilities will be open for the reception on November 12, 2-4pm The awards ceremony will be held in the auditorium on the second floor of the Arts Barn.

Judge of Selection and Awards

Alexis Lavine

Alexis Lavine is delighted to be juror and selector of awards for the 2023 exhibit.  She is a signature member of nine watercolor societies, most notably The National Watercolor Society, Watercolor USA Honor Society, and Transparent Watercolor Society of America.  She is especially pleased to be a long-time signature and life member of BWS.  Honored as one of Watercolor Artist Magazine’s “Ones to Watch,” her paintings have also been published in Splash, The Artistic Touch, and The Palette Magazine.  Alexis’ paintings have been exhibited in juried shows across the country and overseas, including The American and National Watercolor Societies, Watercolor USA, Watercolor West, and many others.  Having exhibited in numerous juried shows, she understands how important it is to serve as juror.  She considers this to be a great honor and she approaches the task with a good eye for design, technique, and expression ... and with true respect, humility, wonder, and fairness.

Selection of the 2023 Exhibitors is Now Complete

Alexis has completed her selection of paintings for the 2023 Mid-Atlantic Exhibition, choosing 97 works from 370 paintings submitted by 218 artists.  Here are her reflections on the selection process...

“Judging a large and prestigious competition such as this one is always exciting, fascinating, and humbling.  Faced with the task of choosing fewer than 100 paintings from nearly 400 entries made my job very challenging to say the least.  The entries encompassed just about every possible subject, technique, and allowable materials.  I tried to choose the strongest body of work, and to recognize and include all of those marvelous variations on the theme of watermedia.  If your painting was selected, may I offer you a hearty “Congratulations!”  If your painting was not selected, please do not be overly discouraged.  I know how you feel!  Keep on painting and learning and entering shows.  Be stubborn! Be determined!  And don’t give up on this unique, versatile and expressive medium, which we all love so much!“ ….. Alexis

The exhibitors for the 2023 BWS Mid-Atlantic Regional Watercolor Exhibition are:

Candy Aaron, Westminster MD

− Mary Cannell Andrews, Alexandria VA

− MaryLou Andrews, Virginia Beach VA

− Sarah Andrews, Arlington VA

− Sara Azzam, Alexandria VA

− Janet Belich, Germantown MD

− Joyce Bell, Ellicott City MD

− Matthew Bird, Sykesville MD

− Myhanh Bosse, Warrington PA

− Gwendolyn Bragg, Alexandria VA

− Marshall Carolus, Alexandria VA

− Leslie Carson, Annapolis MD

− Lizabeth Castellano-King, Stafford VA

− Connie Clutter, Washington PA

− Deborah Cohan, N. Potomac MD

− Rachel Collins, Alexandria VA

− Cheryl Coniglio, Jamison PA

− Deborah Conn, Falls Church VA

− Anne Cordes, Ashburn VA

− Carolyn Councell, Pasadena MD

− Yogini Dahiwadkar, Ellicott City MD

− Kathy Daywalt, Glen Burnie MD

− Christine Duke, Winchester VA

− David Eakin, Forest VA

− Z Feng, Radford VA

− Matthew Fenton, Columbia MD

− Gloria Tseng Fischer, Tacoma Park MD

− Constance Fisher, Berryville VA

− Charlie Frances, Virginia Beach VA

− Jerry Gadd, Westminster MD

− David Gardner, Pittsford NY

− Rosemary Hemp, Ellicott City MD

− Jean Gill, Oak Hill VA

− Judith Gray, Burke VA

− DiAnn Grimes, Westminster MD

− Stephen Hanks, Silver Spring MD

− Nancy Hannans, Columbia MD

− Mimi Hegler, Ashton MD

− Janice Hendra, Severna Park MD

− Kristin Herzog, Estero FL

− Catherine Hillis, Locust Grove VA

− Juliya Ivanilova, Bethesda MD

− William Jaeger, Severna Park MD

− Nishita Jain, Columbia MD

− Shirley Jenkins, Sparks MD

− Judy Jones-Wisniewski, Wheaton MD

− Yolanda Koh, Columbia MD

− Michael Kotarba, Baltimore MD

− Rick Kowalewski, Silver Spring MD

− Jim Kuhlman, Fallston MD

− Angela Lacy, Rockville  MD

− Laura Lin, Frederick MD

− Stacy Lund Levy, Owings Mills MD

− Janet Martinet, Manassas VA

− Anni Matsick, Boalsburg PA

− Deborah McFarlin, Easton MD

− Charlotte Mehosky, North East MD

− Eric Miller, Hanover PA

− Karen Norman, Silver Spring MD

− David Outhwaite, Brooklyn NY

− Maria Payer, Pilesgrove NJ

− Beverly Perdue, Midlothain VA

− Luis Perez, Canaan NY

− Deidre Pistochini, Springfield VA

− Jill Poyerd, Leesburg VA

− JoAnne Ramsey, Bethesda MD

− Michele Rea, Glen Allen VA

− Dorrie Rifkin, Englewood NJ

− Julia Rosenbaum, Gaithersburg MD

− Jim Sandford, Woodbine MD

− Marietta Schreiber, Annapolis MD

− Karen Schuster, Columbia MD

− Linda Slattery Sherman, Montgomery Village MD

− DeEtta Silvestro, Clarence NY

− Maria Sola-Simon, Washington DC

− Frank Spino, Perryville MD

− Nancy Stark, Roanoke VA

− E Jane Stoddard, East Amherst NY

− Susan Stuller, Midlothian VA

− Katherine Sullivan, Arlington VA

− Jeannine Swartz, Mechanicsburg PA

− Robert Talbert, North Potomac MD

− Joan Tarbell-Plato, Woodstock MD

− Jane Thomas, Alexandria VA

− Alexandra Treadaway-Hoare, Silver Spring MD

− Carmella Tuliszewski, Flourtown PA

− Jeffrey Turner, Columbia MD

− Karen Tylec, Millersville MD

− Frank Wengen, Dallas PA

− Pam Wenger, Dillsburg PA

− Lois Wolford, Towson MD

− Fran Wood, Mendham NJ

− Bruce Woodward, Sykesville MD

− Sandy Yagel, Olney MD

− Harold Zabady, Camp Hill PA

− Vicky Zhou, Oakton VA

© Baltimore Watercolor Society

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software